| Why I believe myviewin is a scam |
|
I've been referred recently to a site called myviewin.com which have a concept similar to Yuwie, maybe you are a member or you have already received invitations from other Yuwie members.
I signed up a bit quickly and at first I really liked the site, very clean, cool interface, good functionalities, good design...
I went to read the privacy page and was surprised to discover that they just tell you that they need to collect your email and a few other infos but don't write anywhere that they will not sell or transfer it to third parties, which is usually the basis of any privacy statement.
This got me a bit more curious, I went to the "about us" page and found out...nothing! No company name, no private name, just a very anonymous "team".
Definitely getting suspicious about this site, I did a lookup on the whois database to find out who is the owner of the domain name. Guess what, its rented under a privacy protection company, so you can't find out who it is!
Of course, I immediately contacted the support to ask them about theses important issues. Guess what, they didn't answer...
I went back to the site and looked for a "close my account" link but I could find only a "suspend" link, so I can't even close my account!
I might be wrong on this one, but IMO this is just too many things pointing in the same direction. As the saying goes, if it looks like it, if it smells like it, then it's probably it.
Please update me if you have any contrary or complementary information.
|
| Posted: 2/10/2008 at 07:20 | Read 727 times | 40 comments | Leave Comment |
|